RED by Petrus voted best Belgian fruit beer

RED by Petrus Beste belgische fruitbier min

De Brabandere Brewery racks up more prizes. Barely a month after winning a silver medal at the World Beer Challenge, RED by Petrus has now won the first prize at the prestigious World Beer Awards in London as the best fruit beer in Belgium.

STRONG FRUIT BEER

RED by Petrus is an intriguing beer. It has a full and powerful taste, with a pleasant cherry flavour. Thanks to the addition of 15% sour beer, RED is particularly easy to drink despite its high alcohol content. But what is sour beer? Well, sour beer matures in very large oak barrels called “foeders”. This beer is used as a blend beer to give other beers a fresh and slightly sour taste and aroma. 




RED by Petrus World Beer Awards

BLIND TASTING BY INTERNATIONAL JURY

The World Beer Awards are the reference for beer awards and many breweries enter their beers every year. How are they judged? Albert De Brabandere explains: "All beers are blind tested and judged by beer connoisseurs and beer journalists from all over the world. That is why the World Beer Awards are internationally highly regarded and considered the Oscars of beer awards." RED by Petrus now competes as Belgium's best fruit beer against winners from other countries and still has a chance to win the title of best fruit beer in the world.

OTHER BEERS ALSO WIN PRIZES

RED by Petrus is not the only beer of De Brabandere Brewery that won a medal. Bavik Super Pils was also awarded best Belgian lager and our typical foederbeer Petrus Aged Pale won gold in the wood-aged beers category for the second year in a row.

BDB Visual Awards

RED by Petrus élue meilleure bière fruitée belge

RED by Petrus Beste belgische fruitbier min

Encore plus de prix pour les bières de la Brasserie De Brabandere. Un mois à peine après que la RED by Petrus a remporté une médaille d'argent au World Beer Challenge, elle remporte aujourd'hui le premier prix des prestigieux World Beer Awards de Londres en tant que meilleure bière fruitée de Belgique.


BIÈRE FRUITÉE PUISSANTE

La RED est une bière intrigante, ronde et puissante, sans oublier la délicieuse note de cerise. Grâce à l’ajout de 15 % de bière de foudre, la RED est particulièrement facile à boire malgré un taux d’alcool élevé. Mais qu’est-ce que la bière de foudre ? La bière de foudre mûrit 24 mois dans d’imposants foudres de chêne et est utilisée comme bière de mélange pour donner des saveurs et arômes acidulés à d’autres bières. Comme la RED by Petrus, par exemple.

RED by Petrus World Beer Awards

DÉGUSTATION À L'AVEUGLE PAR UN JURY INTERNATIONAL

Les World Beer Awards sont la référence en matière de récompenses pour la bière et de nombreuses brasseries y inscrivent leurs bières chaque année. Comment sont-ils jugés ? Albert De Brabandere explique : "Toutes les bières sont dégustées à l'aveugle et jugées par des connaisseurs et des journalistes du monde entier. C'est la raison pour laquelle les World Beer Awards jouissent d'une réputation internationale et sont considérés comme les Oscars de la bière". RED by Petrus concourt désormais en tant que meilleure bière fruitée de Belgique contre des gagnants d'autres pays et a encore une chance de remporter le titre de meilleure bière fruitée du monde.

D'AUTRES BIÈRES SONT ÉGALEMENT PRIMÉES

RED by Petrus n'est pas la seule bière de la Brasserie De Brabandere à avoir remporté une médaille. Bavik Super Pils a également reçu le prix de la meilleure pilsner de Belgique et la bière de foudre typique Petrus Aged Pale a remporté l'or dans la catégorie des bières vieillies au bois pour la deuxième année consécutive.

BDB Visual Awards